You are not using a standards compliant browser. To take advantage of this sites features, if you are on a PC please upgrade to the latest version of Internet Explorer, Mozilla/Firefox or Netscape, and if you are on a Mac, please open the site in Safari, or Mozilla/Firefox. Thank You.

Home » Jury Information

Jury Information

John Maeda is a world-renowned graphic designer, visual artist, and computer scientist, and is a founding voice for “simplicity” in the digital age. Dr. Maeda was formerly a faculty member at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) for 12 years where he was Associate Director of Research at the MIT Media Lab. On June 1, 2008, he became the sixteenth President of the Rhode Island School of Design (RISD) in Providence, Rhode Island, the preeminent college of art and design in the US. In 2001, John Maeda won the National Design Award for Communication Design.

Steve Frykholm attended and graduated from Cranbrook Academy of Art after teaching in Nigeria with the U.S. Peace Corps. For 39 years he has been largely responsible for Herman Miller’s image and graphic identity. Steve is an AIGA Fellow and a recipient of Herman Miller’s highest recognition for an employee, The Carl F. Frost Award. In 2003, Herman Miller won the National Design Award for Product Design.

Michael Maharam is the principal of Maharam, the nation’s leading supplier of textiles to commercial architects and interior designers. He is a former trustee of the Smithsonian, Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum, a member of the MoMA A+D Committee, a board member of the Chinati Foundation and the 2007 winner of the Cooper-Hewitt National Design Award for Design Patron.

Marissa Mayer, Vice President of Search Products & User Experience at Google, leads the company’s efforts on search products — web search, images, news, books, products, maps, — and other consumer-facing initiatives such as iGoogle, Earth, Chrome, and more. Her contributions have included designing and developing Google’s search interface, internationalizing the site to over 100 languages, and launching more than 100 features and products on In 2008, Google, Inc. received the National Design Award for Corporate Achievement.

Sigi Moeslinger is a partner at Antenna Design New York Inc. which she co-founded with Masamichi Udagawa in 1997. Antenna’s design projects range from public and commercial to experimental and artistic, typically spanning object, interface and environment. Antenna’s user-centered design approach helps understand human behavior, which is particularly important when designing the unfamiliar, elicited by new technology. Antenna’s work has won numerous awards, including recognition from Business Week/IDSA, I.D., Fast Company and Wired magazines. In 2006, Masamichi and Sigi received the United States Artists Target Fellowship in the Architecture and Design Category. In 2008, Antenna won the National Design Award in Product Design.

Monica Ponce de Leon is the dean and the Eliel Saarinen Professor of Architecture and Urban Planning of the Taubman College at the University of Michigan. She is also a principal of Office dA in Boston. Her practice has received over 30 design awards including eleven P/A Awards. In 2007, Office dA received the National Design Award for Architecture.

Ralph Rucci is honored to be able to participate in his chosen métier. Since 1981, Ralph Rucci’s body of work has been evolving garment by garment. After more than ten years in the business, in 1994 Rucci named his company Chado, after the exacting Japanese tea ceremony. He presented his first haute couture collection in Paris in 2002. He is a treasured creator whose work will continue to inspire all who seek refinement, beauty, and even peace in the world of fashion. In 2008, Ralph Rucci won the National Design Award for Fashion Design.

Margaret Gould Stewart has been a leading practitioner and manager in the field of User Experience for nearly 15 years and has led the design development of several top 10 web sites, including,,, Google search, and currently, a subsidiary of Google, Inc. She is a frequent speaker at leading industry conferences on issues related to design, user experience, and managing creative teams. In 2008, Google, Inc. received the National Design Award for Corporate Achievement.

Marc Tsurumaki

Marc Tsurumaki is a principal and founding member of Lewis.Tsurumaki.Lewis (LTL Architects PLLC), an award-winning design partnership that explores opportunistic overlaps between form, program and materiality. He holds a Bachelor of Science in Architecture from the University of Virginia and a Master of Architecture from Princeton University. Marc Tsurumaki is currently an Adjunct Professor of Architecture at Columbia University’s Graduate School of Architecture, Planning, and Preservation, and has taught at a number of institutions including Parsons The New School for Design, Barnard and Columbia Colleges, the New Jersey Institute of Technology, Kent State University and Yale University as the 2006 Louis I. Kahn Visiting Professor. He has served on the Board of the Van Alen Institute since 2002. In 2007, Lewis.Tsurumaki.Lewis received the National Design Award for Interior Design.

Michael Van Valkenburgh is Principal of Michael Van Valkenburgh Associates, landscape architects and urban designers, founded in 1982. Michael also is the Charles Eliot Professor in Practice of Landscape Architecture at Harvard University Graduate School of Design, where he has taught since 1982. In 2003, Michael van Valkenburgh won the National Design Award for Environment.